top of page

Diving into the Deep End

I have dabbled in yoga over the past 10 years with family and friends or on holidays for fun, bonding, rest, and relaxation.

18 months ago I started lifting weights 5-6 times/week, loving my new found body's strength and ability. I began to introduce meditative body scans daily and mindful movement into my workouts, after completing a 3 month mindfulness course with Openground at the beginning of 2016.

I was thrilled at the accelerated session results with the same effort and less weight. Initially, my yoga motivation was to stretch, relieve and improve my gym workouts, grabbing classes anytime my energy, busy work and family life would allow (4-5 times a month). During summer 2017/18 I practiced yoga 4-6 per week in class and video / Youtube, preferring Vinyasa & Vinyasa Flow, classes close to home are limited.

For me, yoga is the language connecting my body's thoughts, emotions, senses and self, an internal means of communication through movement, pauses in space, focus and union. It has been a vehicle of physical exertion, training and strength. It has been my healing, freedom, therapy, and at times a struggle.

Yoga has allowed me to immerse myself in something unfamiliar, be adventurous, explore and become aware of aspects of my person I ordinarily wouldn't have considered significant. With yoga my focus is inside, it involves all of my collective self.

I hope discover tools to teach people how to connect with their core self through yoga, and to inspire others to use yoga to expand their capabilities and self awareness.

To develop my teaching style to one who can maximise the uniqueness and strengths of each individual. They challenge others in a non threatening way, providing enough space for failure without judgement.

Yoga has taught me how to look at myself in an honest non judgemental way and to accept all of me while realising that I am still a work in progress.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page